Looking for advice, please.

bsfast

Location (City and/or State)
Crowsnest Pass, Alberta
Hello, I have a 4 month old cherry head red-footed tortoise and I am stressing out about keeping the humidity and and temperature ‘just right’. In his hide, I have an electronic thermometer that reads 75-80 degrees and 80-100% humidity all of the time but I cant seem to get the hide to stay at a consistent 80 degrees. Directly above where he sleeps I have two dial-type readers that show 90 degrees and aprox 70% humidity. Do you think this is sufficient? I have a ceramic heat bulb directly above his hide on the cooler side and a regular heat lamp on the hotter basking side. That side the temp is closer to 90-95 degrees. When the UVA/UVB bulb is on during the day, the temps/ humidity in his hide stays closer to the ideal I was told of 80 and 80. But at night the cooler end does go to about 75. Is this too low for my baby? This is my first time owning a tortoise so I want to make sure I get it right. I have done so much reading about pyramiding and shell rot, I am totally stressing out now. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

217ED93A-AC32-4C05-B47B-63525C5552AE.jpeg886150D7-F4BB-4C33-AC61-617328447E95.jpeg27F7DECD-264D-402A-BEA7-6A083ABFC253.jpeg

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
I do not keep Redfoots. But, you cannot keep up the humidity and temp gradients with an open top habitat. He is a forest floor type of tortoise so low light is better than being bombed with bright UVB light (I think). Anyway UVB rays cannot go thru screen. I'm sure you will get better advice from our Redfoot experts, but I wanted to let you know you are not being ignored...lol

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA