Loss of appetite

Bruhbliq

Location (City and/or State)
mechanicville
Hello, Im new to keeping tortoises. but i know for a fact somethings wrong with my tortoise. can someone help?
This is my Russian tortoise Freddie. I'm worried he has problems because recently hes been fasting and only eating small amounts. I had a heating issue before that i fixed. does he have shell rot or something else? I've noticed also some cracks along the bottom of the shell. This is alarming and is why I'm on this site. please help.

IMG_2691.JPGIMG_2692.JPGIMG_2693.JPG

TaylorTortoise

Abington
Hello there!
It doesn't seem like there are any health concerns with your guy. He looks pretty healthy to me.
I would give your Russian a 10-15 minute warm soak to get hydrated if you do not already do these.
I have a RT and my guy seems to be eating less as well, and I think the reason is due to the weather.
He sleeps more.... His favorite thing to do is EAT! But as long as you are monitoring the amounts and seeing regular activity everything should be fine. They can go a few days without food. As long as he is eating, I would not make it a concern.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
What are your temps? Day, night, basking?
What is the humidity?
What kind of light are you using?
What are you feeding?
What are the temps in your area?
Answer the questions so we can help you better.
As for shell I see no concerns

Yossarian

5 Year Member
Wales
Welcome to the forum,

Not a bad looking russian actually. Not shell rot, just a lot of new growth on top, what your seeing underneath is just wear and tear.

Nails are very long and beak looks overgrown also. Can we see some photos of your enclosure and heating and lighting?

The Best Way To Raise Any Temperate Species Of Tortoise | Tortoise Forum - this is the care sheet, its great, follow it and you will have a healthy tort.