Milly's Growth Chart - Sharing it for comparisson

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeopardTortLover

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Manchester, UK
I've been keeping a growth (weight and length) chart for 7 months now. I know all torts grow at different rates so I thought I'd share it so people can compare with their own.

I live in the UK and dont get much sun. Feed her a diet of spring mix, zoo med tortoise grass land food, cactus pads (winter diet) and all of this plus weeds and flowers in the summer.

Shes on a bed of moistened coco coir and humidity is 40% hot end - 85% cool end.

I bought Milly when she was 1 year old. So she's now 17 months. And the good news is her pyramiding seems to have stopped! Hurrayyyy.

She also seems to have spurts of growth and then stops for a while - she doesnt have continuous even growth.

I attach the pic of the growth chart. (zoom in)

milly growth chart.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Greg T

10 Year Member!
League City, TX
That is a good chart and will help you watch her growth. Don't worry about growth spurts, I think that is normal. One of mine grew really slowly and then one summer almost doubled in size. If you think the pyramiding is fading away with the new growth then you must be doing something right there. Keep up the good work.

LeopardTortLover

5 Year Member
Manchester, UK
Thank you. I'm glad ive kept it, at the moment she seems to be up and down with her weight. Not sure why though. She had her last spurt when I introduced grassland food, but its eased off again now. Hoping she'll grow over summer! Im hoping it has, the new growth does seem smooth and the pyramids arent any bigger - so I think it has stopped.

Tortus

5 Year Member
Maryland
Glad the pyramiding stopped! It doesn't look that bad to me to begin with. It's always nice to know when you're doing something right.