Mulberry Tree Prunning

Len B

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Md - Northern Neck Va
I've been growing mulberry trees for 12 years for my tortoises. A few years ago I cut one back during the winter while it was dormant and noticed that it produced more leaves and they were bigger than the leaves on the trees that were not pruned. This first pic was taken late April this year.mulberry April 23.jpg The new growth is just starting to come out. .These pics were taken today.mulberry Picture 3514.jpgThe branch running from bottom right to upper left is one of the first new branches, At the base of each leaf another new limb starts growingmulberry Picture 3519.jpg mulberry Picture 3514 copy 2.jpgThis is the size of the leaves on the first new growth limbsmulberry Picture 3521.jpgNot only will you get more and bigger leaves you wont get any berries on the new growth Also the new limbs stay flexible enough to bend them down to get the leaves that are out of reach. In the fall when the growing season ends I start trimming the limbs back and strip the all the leaves off for food or dry for winter food.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I have wondered about trimming mine. I have 3 fruitless dwarfs. They get filled with leaves and full with branches but have not grown very tall yet. They are so full and branches hang to the ground that you can't see under them at all. I'm just afraid of damaging it some how. Maybe I will try one this fall and see what happens next year then go from there. Would love to get leaves that big.

Marianna

Crete Greece
Here in Greece we have millions of mulberrie trees. We prune them right back to the trunk at the end of the summer. Shepherds and farmers then feed the leaves to the sheep and goats. The trees need pruning. This way they will get more dense and grow faster. I have 1 tree that I don't prune and it looks pathetic compared with the other ones that have leafs up to 25 cm.