Nail trimming and bleeding

marissab

I take my tortoise outside on the concrete to file down the nails, but it hasn't been helping whatsoever. Every time I hold him his nails proceed to scrape my hands painfully. I looked on this forum and it said to trim them. I tried my best to not hurt his nerve, but he started to bleed and then proceeded to poop. I feel terrible that I hurt him, and now I'm worried that he will be frightened of me whenever he interacts with me.

Does this cause them a lot of pain? Will he be scared of me whenever I approach him now?
Should I use a nail file instead?
I'm a beginner and the last thing I want to do is to hurt him. Help!

Hello

Well your tortoise is probably in a lot of stress so try to calm him down I suggest calling your vet for advice. Don't actually trim the nail let it trim naturally by letting him walk on rocks or tile that you can put in his enclosure make sure no pestitsides have been used on the rock don't get rocks outside as you don't know how dirty they are. Ask your vet how to stop the bleeding. You can rebuild the trust between you and your tortoise just let him be alone for a few days and it you must handle him do it gently and slowly its normal for tortoises to scratch but there is really nothing you can do about it

marissab

The bleeding stopped almost immediately after it started, I think I just nicked him. He's still scared but I hand fed him some aloe leaf and he seems better. Chomping like normal now.

SarahChelonoidis

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Toronto, Canada
The treats should help erase some of the trauma.

If you can't clearly see the vein, use a nail file. With clippers, only take tiny, tiny bits off at a time. You're sure the nails needed trimming? Some tortoises are just scratchy - the nails help them climb.

Douglas Yardley