Need help with my Russian tortoise

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
A brand new member - Marissa S. - posted the following in a private message to me, but I think she will be better served asking all you Russian keepers about her concerns rather than just me:

Marissa S.New Member
New
I'm fairly new to the tortoise game. I've had Vlad, a russian tortoise, for about a month and have noticed some slight peeling on the shell. I'm using repti-bark as a substrate, and I keep a shallow dish of water in the enclosure. I've seen a lot of posts on here about soaking, so I've been soaking him about 3-4 times a week, but it doesn't seem to be doing much. Any and all advice on what to do would be very much appreciated!

Pictures (sorry for the low-quality photos):

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Marissa, and welcome to the Forum!

I'm sorry but unless one has a google account, we can't see the pictures. Can you post them here instead of on Google?

Russian tortoises' shells usually look a little beat up. Without seeing what you're concerned about all I can say is it's probably just normal Russian tortoise wear and tear.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
where are you located if you don't mind

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome. I can't see your pictures either, but I agree with Yvonne. probably nothing to worry about. Check out the Russian caresheet and make whatever adjustments are needed.

GingerLove

5 Year Member