Need some advice please!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoahsEarth

5 Year Member
I am very new to all of this but my family and I want to get a couple of tortoises to add to our family. I was looking at tortoise tables over teraniums because I dont like glass enclosures. So I have come up with a very cool idea for a home for our new additions. I haven't got them yet but I want to their home to be complete when I get them. Meaning environment at its best all around. So here we go with my idea.

I am going to turn the wood storage section of my fireplace into the tortoise resort. The storage part itself is 32x30 however the inside height is like 36 inches. So I was thinking of hanging the lights inside the storage area so they would not be seen but still beable to provide the right climate for the torts. All that said, when the project is finshed the heat and uv lights would be apporximatley 20 to 24 inches from the substrate. What size heat lamp should I use to be able to accomplish this or will I have to bring the lights closer? Will the UV CFL be able to be hung this way as well? I have the ability to hang a couple of heat lamps and uv lamps if need be to get the climate. What do you guys think?

Attached is a pic of the fireplace: the area I am speaking of is on the left
View attachment 14101

Last edited by a moderator:

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
NoahsEarth said:
I am very new to all of this but my family and I want to get a couple of tortoises to add to our family. I was looking at tortoise tables over teraniums because I dont like glass enclosures. So I have come up with a very cool idea for a home for our new additions. I haven't got them yet but I want to their home to be complete when I get them. Meaning environment at its best all around. So here we go with my idea.