new and need help

deiandra

Location (City and/or State)
Riverside, California
Hi! Im new to owning tortoises ive had turtles being from oklahoma you find them everywhere anyways i just got pne my sister in laws boss had hatchlings that literally hatched today anf i need to know what kind it is so i can know how to property care for my new hatchling please help

Attachments

• 1409193306695.jpg
    1409193306695.jpg
    682.4 KB · Views: 38

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Looks like a gopher tortoise . I could be wrong but I think Im right . Yvonne, Tom, and Kelly can tell you 100%.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Depending on what state she's in .

deiandra

Riverside, California
Im in california and idk what the rules are for here like i said my sister in laws boss has tortoises and when he gets eggs he gives them away no selling of any sort so idk. Im just not sure what type of tortoise this is and was wondering i asked my sister in law and well she isnt the brightest when it comes to pets and just tells me oh idk just a tortoise

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Since you're in California, it's more than likely a desert tortoise - Gopherus agassizii. They are protected here in CA, but it is legal for you to have. Once it reaches about 3 years of age you can apply for a permit for it.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Then it is a gopher tortoise and it isn't illegal to own you just can't breed or sell them . You will have to get a permit . Yvonne will be the one to ask . Give her a pm she'll help you with everything you need to know . But for now I would set it up in an enclosure at 80º with water bowl.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California