New at this

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harley

5 Year Member
Ok so as it says in the subject I'm new at this. I've ton a lot of research and get different answers. So I figures this is the best place. I have a I believe 4 month old sulcata. This is the enclosure he is in right now. We are talking about making a tortoise table. A few questions. He just today decided that he wanted to dig out the bedding from the back. And he has been pacing. I don't know if that means anything?? Someone told me that it's bad to be in a glass enclosure because it causes respiratory problems is this true? I'm not sure if its glass or acrylic. Should I feed him everyday or every other? I've heard both. And the big one is can I have water in his enclosure? I've again heard both. The top isn't completely closed. It has holes in it. I know these are a lot of questions. I just want what's best for Harley. Please let me know,

Thanks

DNA

Thanks

Attachments

• image-2837420978.png
    image-2837420978.png
    735.8 KB · Views: 40

omgdoubletacos

10 Year Member!
How long ave you had it? My little guy paced his 20 gal tank for the first few days to a week after I got him. Yours is probably just exploring is surroundings.
You can have water in his enclosure, I suggest using one of the ceramic saucers they use for plants.

You should feed him everyday. I do 2 smaller meals as opposed to one large one. (mine makes less of a mess that way). I had my little guy in a 20 gal long tank for about 2 months before he out grew it. I suggest you go ahead and start working on your tortoise table! Lol.

Cover as much of the enclosure as possible while he is young. This will keep the humidity up and produce a healthy smooth shelled sully. Have only had my sully for a few months. You will learn a bunch from the bigger guys on this forum! Sure did. The previous owner of my baby told me some very false information on my little guy!