New - considering a redfoot!

Jaclynn0713

Hello! My boyfriend and I have been talking about getting a tortoise since we met nearly 3 years ago (I joked that I wanted a land turtle as a guard dog). I *adore* tortoises and we have an almost 2 year old that is in love with turtles. Today kind of sold it for us today - we took her to a friend's house that has a large spur thigh and a young redfoot. Well watching my daughter laugh and giggle and feed them was just enough to make my heart explode. Anyway, we live in Florida and I've read that a Redfoot is very suitable for our climate. We are also open to a Hermann and Russian as well, but I like the fact that we could have an outdoor enclosure with the Redfoot and the climate would match well.

We live in an apartment but have a small patio space where we are trying to figure out the best set up for the tortoise enclosure. Our complex is picky about the appearance of our patio so whatever solution we find needs to be visually appealing and not "DIY" looking.

Now to some questions:

1. I've read that Redfoots enjoy company. Can I just get one, or is two a better set up? I would prefer to start with one but I understand if they do better in groups.

2. Any input on using something like this "terrarium coffee table" (picture attached)?

http://www.walmart.com/ip/43977407?...0572832&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=127089407312&veh=sem

We also found this wicker plant box that I saw someone set up as a tortoise table. Opinions?

3. If anyone knows of a reputable breeder, online or located in South FL that sells redfoots or cherryheads, links and contact information would be appreciated. We are planning on gifting the tortoise for my daughter's 2nd birthday at the end of April (though it is more of my pet than hers, but I know it will make her happy).