New Hermans Tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZHermans

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arizona
Hello everyone. Noob here and I already posted an intro in that area. I am from Arizona and just got a new baby Hermans today. He is our new family friend. I have been all around looking for a Hermans and I finally found one. Couple questions though that don't seem to add up right for me. We bought a terrarium kit and everything through the pet store> I'm sure there was probably a better way to do this but oh well. This brings me to some questions. For the bedding, they gave us rabbit pellets! This cant be right? I would think he would rather be in some sort of soil mixture or bark or something?? Right? Also we have a basking rock, a hideout and is all inside a 20 gallon wide. There are 2 lamps, one for heat over the basking rock and another that is UV. How long should each lamp be on for?

Noob with Hermans so if anyone has advice, it would be much appreciated. Also I live in AZ in the dessert. So some vegetation might be hard for me to come by such as the wild flowers, dandelions and such... anyone else from a dessert that can share tips?

Anyways Thank you much! I like having a support group rather than a pet store, as I know they don't all know what they are talking about.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA