Status
Not open for further replies.

pencilsss

5 Year Member
Hello everyone!

I have just joined this forum.

I have a pet tortoise called Pencils who is two, he's a Herman tort and adorable!
I am a little worried about him as he seems to have lost quite a few claws! :(
I need some advice, pretty please.

He mainly eats the komodo tortoise diet fruit and flower flavoured pellet things which are added to water to make soft. In the past he has tried carrot and strawberries and he LOVES dandelion leaves!
My boyfriend at the time bought him for me (best gift ever!) the man he bought him from would feed the tortoises he owned dandelion leaves everyday but when I went to the pet store they said that it was not a good idea to do this as dandelion leaves are seen as a treat. Oopsie daisy.

Anyway any advice on how to sort his claws out? And weeds that I could feed him?
I'm a student and he lives with me in my student house so I really cannot afford to take him to the vets at the moment :(

Thank you!

Claire (pencils' mum) :D

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome, Claire!!

I don't know if this is Pencil's problem or not, but do you sprinkle a bit of calcium powder on the food occasionally?

Your tortoise would benefit from a bit more variety in his diet. The Komodo dragon food is good (is there a different flavor besides fruit?), but he should also be getting some greens. Any dark leafy greens that you could buy for your own salad would be good for the tortoise too.

pencilsss

5 Year Member
Yes I do occasionally dip the leaves in the calcium supplement. I am trying out some new leaves tonight! It's difficult to tell which leaves are okay to give him (or her) pencils is still to young to determine the sex.
I was wondering what else I could feed pencils, like things I would have in the fridge, can we feed him cucumber or is that a big no?