New setup- is this ok?

Slbrlb

Location (City and/or State)
Midwest United States

Maggie3fan

5 Year Member
PacificNorthWest
I used to use that clamp light for years...but your strip light is for UVB and the incandescent bulb for basking heat...I would omit the incandescent bulb in favor of a CHE on a thermostat
but I am not an expert.

Slbrlb

Midwest United States
I used to use that clamp light for years...but your strip light is for UVB and the incandescent bulb for basking heat...I would omit the incandescent bulb in favor of a CHE on a thermostat
but I am not an expert.
Isn’t the T5 HO a uvb bulb? Or am I misunderstanding

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
but I am not an expert.
I would stick with the bulb. Most do not go to heat but will go too the light.
A che though for any needed night heat is recommended.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Isn’t the T5 HO a uvb bulb? Or am I misunderstanding
Yes it is a uvb bulb. That one is fine. The basking bulb you plan on is fine. Heat for night time use a che in the same kind of fixture you show from lowes but get the ones with a ceramic socket.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Look where the cord meets the dome. The white ceramic socket. Might be called porcelain which is fine too.

Slbrlb

Midwest United States
Look where the cord meets the dome. The white ceramic socket. Might be called porcelain which is fine too.
Perfect thank you!! I see Lowe’s has one too and they specifically state that it is a porcelain ceramic socket. I guess when it’s plastic they just don’t mention anything. I really appreciate your help!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Do not clamp the light onto anything. They have been known to fail. However I do attach the clamp to the light and then use that clamp to run rope thru to hang the light.

Slbrlb

Midwest United States