New to the tortoise forum and wondering what I can do to make my tortoise happier

RetroFangirl

Location (City and/or State)
Wisconsin, USA
Hi so i'm new to the tortoise forum but not new to owning a tortoise. I've had my Russian tortoise, Dragon, for around five years. I feel as though I take care of him well. I feed him once a day and I take him outside to let him walk around in a little play pen that my dad made for him. In his cage, he has a hollow log that he like to sleep under. and a ceramic figure of a turtle that he likes to dig under. but he is always running up against the side of the cage repeatedly and making a banging noise when his shell hits the glass. When I let him out of his cage he just runs into the walls. I have seen online that people give there tortoises balls to play with. and I thought that maybe he does this because he is bored. so I gave him a red ball but he has no interest in it. does anyone know why he does this and if there is anything I could give him that he would like to play with?

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Hey RetroFanGirl, I'm thinking that your enclosure is probably a tad small. Upload some photos of your habitat....and we can help you. Welcome..

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas