New to this, advise?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fyreflye

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Oklahoma
Two months ago i adopted a young redfoot- his previous owner only had him for a couple of months, but decided that she didn't have the time and money to care for him properly. I think she meant well, but when i first saw him it was obvious that he needed some help; he was kept on terrarium carpet (NO substrate) and had nothing to supply heat or humidity.

I was informed beforehand that he had an eye infection, but his labored breathing lead me to suspect a respiratory problem. A visit to the vet confirmed pneumonia. Now, 8 weeks later, he's still in recovery.

While i did keep some native turtle species as a child, i have to admit that i am new to tortoises. I have been doing a lot of research online in regards to feeding, habitat and care, but i think that a forum is an excellent place to get advise and tips from peers with experience.

Right now Flash (he came without a name, it took us about 30 minutes to pick one for him) is doing well, but with the recent changes in weather i'm finding it harder to keep the humidity up in his enclosure- a 29 gal aquarium. I am wondering if it is possible to set up a humidifier to vent directly into his tank..?

A picture of Flash: his 'bad' eye is facing the camera, and he has no red coloring on him at all, but from what i've read his head scale patterns still mark him as a redfoot.

IMG_3223.jpg

ReptileManiac

5 Year Member
I think you should get him out of an aquarium, it tends to drive tortoises crazy.

terryo

10 Year Member!
Staten Island, New York