New tortoise owner here

Helazbee

Location (City and/or State)
St.Helens
Hi guys I am now the proud owner of a tortoise I have been contemplating getting one for some time now. Unfortunately somebody couldn't keep their tortoise for some unknown reason and a 3rd party handed her over to me, so I've kind of rescued her. I have got a table and bought the correct equipment (as far as I am aware).I am new to this but I have also done a fair amount of research. Hoping you guys can help me provide a nice comfortable life for Elizabeth

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
We'll need to know Elizabeth's species

Helazbee

St.Helens
Yes I believe she is a horsfield tortoise and apparently she's 4. She's roughly 5 inches long.
Personally I think she's older and I'm worried her shell isn't in the best shape.

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Is that a red bulb you are using or is the tortoises' she'll pink in color?

Helazbee

St.Helens
No thats just refraction from the camera I think, its a white bulb and her shell is mainly yellow

Reactions: Ink

Yossarian

5 Year Member
Wales
Yep it is a russian, though not quite the prototypical example. Could you show us the rest of the enclosure pls?

It doent look too bad tbh, there is some pyramidding and the beak looks a little overgrown but there is nothing seriously wrong in the pic. As long a you get it right from here on out this tort will be in good shape.

Helazbee

St.Helens
Thats good then ill try my best. I'm going to move the lamp over to the left hand side of the table and rearrange. I've put 3-4 inches of damp sphagnum moss in her hide

Attachments

• 16108259746747441667580249381468.jpg
    16108259746747441667580249381468.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 55

KarenSoCal

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Low desert 50 mi SE of Palm Springs CA