Newbie Leopard Tortoise; Hatchling Enclosure

Mefisher89

Location (City and/or State)
Charlotte
I'm planning on getting a hatchling leopard tortoise in the next few weeks. I've started an enclosure, how's it look? I plan to have a heating lamp and uv lamp. I also have an understand heating pad. My substrate is half sand half organic topsoil. I have some moss and tyme planted. The hide is some bark which I plan to add moss inside. Any other suggestions? I'm very new to tortoise care so any advice is appreciated!

IMG_20180812_200602.jpg IMG_20180812_200611.jpg IMG_20180812_200614.jpg

Minority2

Tortoise Hell
Please read these two threads on Leopard tortoise care.
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.78361/
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/leopard-tortoise-care-sheet.63792/

1. Sand is not a safe material to be used as a substrate. Do not use it. It is an outdated and potentially dangerous option.
2. The water/feed dish you currently in your enclosure is not ideal for tortoises/hatchlings. Get something with lower walls and submerge it into the substrate to make it easier for hatchlings to go in and out of. Plant saucers are highly recommended. I prefer square/rectangle ones myself.
3. What are the dimensions the enclosure in the picture? It doesn't look very spacious to me. Generally I like to recommend larger enclosures so new owners do not have to continually buy or build additional enclosures when their tortoise outgrow them. You might also want to get started on planning/building a large permanent outdoor enclosure for your Leopard sometime in the near future.
4. The link provided should include recommendations on lighting setups. A basic setup for a hatchling Leopard is 1x basking light 100F 12-14 hr, 1x uvb reptile rated florescent tube 12-14hr, and 1x ceramic heat emitter to keep your cool end at a constant 80F day and night. Humidity levels should also be at a constant 80% day and night.

wellington