Optimal humidity

Status
Not open for further replies.

teneb

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Watson's tank is usually 50-60% humidity at night. I've noticed recently that he's blowing a lot of bubbles out of his nose and I'm worried about respiratory infection. The liquid is clear. He's eating normally and acting pretty much normal, although he seems to stay in his "house" (overturned log) a little more often.

I'm probably being paranoid, but I want to make sure I'm giving him the optimal environment to do well and be happy.

Isa

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Montreal, QC, Canada
Hello
What are you temps in the cold and the hot side?
Do you see the bubbles comming out of his nose after he drank water? If yes, it is normal that you see bubbles,
if not, If I would be you, I could call the vet AS SOON AS POSSIBLE for a check up.

Clementine_3

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Upstate NY
I'm still new to all of this but from everything I've read and been told Greeks should have low humidity. 50% would be pushing the max limit, somewhere in the 30-40% range is good. The humidity for my guy hangs around 35%, the light really keeps things nice and arid for him.

teneb

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Isa said:
Hello
What are you temps in the cold and the hot side?
Do you see the bubbles comming out of his nose after he drank water? If yes, it is normal that you see bubbles,
if not, If I would be you, I could call the vet AS SOON AS POSSIBLE for a check up.

I don't have water in his tank; I soak him twice a week and spray his food. The temp is around 70 at night on the cool side; 90 during the day on the hot side.

Isa

10 Year Member!
Montreal, QC, Canada
teneb said:
I don't have water in his tank; I soak him twice a week and spray his food. The temp is around 70 at night on the cool side; 90 during the day on the hot side.