Orchid bark vs coco coir

Tort1419

I heard that orchid bark is bad and can grow mold so I'm not sure about getting it. What about coco coir the only thing I heard is that it is too messy for adults. Is it going to kill the tortoise if he ingests it. I want to know of any problems associated with either of these please. I've narrowed it down to orchid bark or coco coir. I have already talked to Tom and he likes orchid bark, but there are so many kinds, also coco coir the only thing he didn't like about it is that he said it was to messy for adults. Tom I don't know how to tag you but if you see this can you come explain this.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Orchid bark does not grow mold. I've been using it for 30 years and never once has it molded. If there is leftover food or poop, mold or fungus can grow on that just like any other substrate, but it doesn't grow on the orchid bark.

Neither O bark nor coir will hurt the tortoise if small amounts are accidentally ingested.

G-stars

5 Year Member
Southern California
I like and use both along with spaghnum moss for hatchlings. Yes the coco coir can be a little messy. It gets in the water and on them. But it holds humidity really well. I place the moss in the humid hides and around the dishes to prevent the coir from getting in.

I like the orchid bark for adults. Not so much for hatchlings.

Reactions: Tom

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I don't know what I'm doing differently than other people, but every tortoise I've ever had tries to eat sphagnum moss. I can't use it.

Tort1419

When I put half a gallon of water in the substrate, how often do I need to do this and won't the substrate get very wet

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California