possible bacterial infection?

treefrog010

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
culpeper va
Anyone have valid ideas on which to test first...The tortoise or the egg??? I have 9 clutches of redfoot eggs in incubator at present 7 clutches doing fine from 3 females ( all guyanan) however, I have a dwarf cherryhead pair, female 9.25 inch and male 6.75 inch. First year breeding for both. Female laid first clutch above ground, 3 eggs, 1 broken. 2nd clutch, 5 eggs buried. Upon incubation and first candling after 2.5 weeks I found 1 egg clear and 2nd had a dark spot on side of egg (internal) at 2nd candling, 2nd egg smelled and was adled. Now 2nd clutch of 5 at 2.5 week candling 2 of eggs seem to have similar dark spot. Question is? Would you swab female for culture or egg or both to determine if there is an infection present. I have been hatching for 35 yrs but have never had an infection problem

treefrog010

5 Year Member
culpeper va
Also. I would like to add to tortadise' thread on incubation techniques. I have hatched 18 species of parrots and water fowl and ostrich, snakes, and 5 species of torts. One very important aspect of incubation seems to have not been mentioned; all eggs have an optimum loss or gain of weight necessary for proper hatch. Tortoises for instance need approximately a 16% loss in weight from start of incubation to hatchdate. I graph needed weight loss either as single eggs or groups of eggs of same species every 2 weeks and adjust humidity to control loss. Also, eggs benefit from a dry down period a week prior to internal (aircell) piping and then 100% humidity after 80% of embryos are in the aircell.anyone wants more detailed explanation, I will answer them.

puffy137

Why not just let them lay their eggs in the ground & leave them alone until they hatch themselves ? Thats been the most successful way for healthy babies for me. :rolleyes:

Ferretinmyshoes

5 Year Member
Colorado