Preparing for new Hermanns tortoise, a little overwhelmed

Slbrlb

Location (City and/or State)
Midwest United States
Hello, this is my first post and I am brand new to the tortoise world. I am preparing to get a well started Hermanns tortoise and have been reading all the care guides, what not to do etc. I wanted opinions on this enclosure for a hatchling (although I know I will need to upgrade eventually)

Also the other thing I am not certain abut is the lights. I know I need a heat light as well as the long uvb light but I cannot seem to find a consistent way these are set up. How would I attach the long uvb light to the enclosure? It seems the heat light can be used with any standing lamp, but the uvb one im not so sure. I don’t plan to have a screen that it can set on top of.

Any help or opinions are greatly appreciated! Thank you.

TheLastGreen

Johannesburg
Hi, welcome! I'm glad you want to start in a good way. (Don't worry, getting a tort is always overwhelming, but if you have any questions just ask and the members here will help with a smile)
Follow this guide religiously.
That enclosure that you suggested seems ok, but going bigger is always better.
@Tom @Yvonne G are the experts on hermanns

Last edited:

Slbrlb

Midwest United States
Thank you so much for sharing that post! It definitely helped answer some questions I had. I think the only thing I need now is to figure out which fixture to use for the florescent tube bulbs.

TheLastGreen

Johannesburg
I forgot to mention this, it would be better if you could get a closed chamber enclosure

TaylorTortoise

Abington
Greetings, welcome
I have a hermann’s myself.
Where are you purchasing your western, eastern hermanns from?

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome,
Well done to research before you get your tort, hopefully you'll have everything set up and ready for him to move into which will reduce the stress for him, because they don't like change.