Questions... how often to change substrate & feeding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucymay

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles
I am new to tortoises and just got my RT last week, named Yuri :) I read everything I could find and finally decided on a sand, dirt and pellets for the substrate. Petco does not recommend sand because the tort might accidentally eat it and so I won't use it in the future. My question is how often to change the substrate. I have been able to pick up his 'mess' or he has been going in the water when I've soaked him so the substrate is staying clean. Also, I have been feeding him once or twice a day and he eats it all. He loves the spring mix and carrots. How long can he go without eating? I had a Florida Box Turtle and he sometimes went several days without eating (mealworms). Any help you can give me is appreciated. Thanks. And lastly.... how can you tell how old he is?

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
How often to change it will depend on several things. First off, I am not sure what kind of pellets your using. Some of those need quite frequent changing. I use the Bed-A-Beast/sand mixture myself. With that, I of course do the constant spot cleaning of stools, old food and the like. I also keep mixing it up every few days. I normally change it completely twice a year in the bigger enclosures. Summer months they are outside, so that makes about every four months for me. I do add some when it needs it in between times and like I said, remove what looks soiled.

In some of my smaller housings, it gets cleaned out up to once a month, but usually every two months. Just depends on the amount of animal per space, what and how much they eat, ect..,