Russian Tort Diet Questions!

turtlegirl13

Hello everyone! I have been doing the same thing diet wise for my tortoise for 6 years. I feed Sasha 20% fruits, 20% dry tortoise food, and 60% vegetables. All of her vet appointments say she is super healthy and a perfect weight! For salads I usually make a mix of kale, lettuce, carrot, yellow squash, and a few apple pieces. Does anyone have any other diet suggestions? I have full time school so it is hard to find time to make a salad daily. I have heard many people say feeding a tortoise every other day is better for them. Opinions please! :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
They should not be getting fruit. Its not good for them. A little bit once in a while wont kill them, but its not good for them either. Grocery store greens are also not the best, but they will do in the absence of better things. Vegetables are not as bad as fruit, but not great either.

The diet should primarily be broad leaf weeds and leaves.

I don't know which pelleted food you are using, but most of them aren't great.

Most vets wouldn't know a healthy tortoise if they saw one. Does your vet keep tortoises? Lot of experience breeding and raising tiny hatchlings? Most of them have little to no experience. They often do things that kill otherwise healthy tortoises, like their "vitamin" injections that are totally uncalled for and frequently cause skin to slough off at the injection site. Your vet might be one of the good ones, but don't be surprised if one day you discover that he/she really knows very little about tortoises beyond what they just read in the vet handbook kept in the back.

Here are some things that you SHOULD be feeding:
Mulberry leaves
Grape vine leaves
Hibiscus leaves
African hibiscus leaves
Blue hibiscus leaves
Rose of Sharon leaves
Rose leaves
Geraniums
Gazanias
Lavatera
Pansies
Petunias
Hostas
Honeysuckle
Cape honeysuckle