Setting up for Hibernation

MildredsMommy

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
San Antonio, Texas
Hello All-we are finishing up the outdoor enclosure for our newly adopted Texas Tort. I know I will need a secure house and some leaf litter-can anyone please advise what all else I would need to stock the enclosure with to make sure she has a safe hibernation? Also, if she has a scute missing from what appears to be a very old injury in which bone shows thru, is she still safe to hibernate? I am super nervous as I have never done this before. Please help-I know everyone is very busy but I dont seem to get more than one reply when I ask-which make me feel as if I am "bugging" everyone with dumb questions, but how else do you learn?? :(

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
My desert tortoises and texas tortoises all hibernate outside, however, they are inside their houses, which are dry and safe from freezing. Make sure where you want the tortoise to hibernate is going to be dry in the rain. If the tortoise is allowed to get wet while its cold, it will die. You can either pack the house with shredded newspaper or dry leaves. Either works fine.

The injured part of the shell is an old injury and won't be a cause for concern. Eventually new keratin will grow under that white spot and the white spot will flake off. But this takes a very long time.

MildredsMommy

5 Year Member
San Antonio, Texas
Yvonne G said:
My desert tortoises and texas tortoises all hibernate outside, however, they are inside their houses, which are dry and safe from freezing. Make sure where you want the tortoise to hibernate is going to be dry in the rain. If the tortoise is allowed to get wet while its cold, it will die. You can either pack the house with shredded newspaper or dry leaves. Either works fine.