Shipping Large Sulcata Tortoise

CTP

5 Year Member
So I'm trying to adopt out my tortoise: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread-84134.html

I HAVE searched for and read all the other tortoise-shipping threads on the forum. But I was hoping I could get some more detail on some things? I am VERY new to this and have never shipped an animal before, much less a reptile, so I want to be 100% sure of everything.

My tortoise is a LARGE ADULT Sulcata. I would wager he's about 40-50 pounds, though not sure. I have some questions--

• What are the specific names of the services that are good to ship large reptiles?
  • What are the price ranges like?
  • Could someone maybe give me a "For Dummies" guide as to exactly what kind of shipping products to use?
  • What kind of box? Bedding? It's winter- how will he stay warm?
  • Anything else specific to Sulcatas I should know?

Like I said, I am VERY new to this, so I feel like I need more help than usual. Any advice would be appreciated!

CTP

5 Year Member
Are you recommending shipyourreptiles.com? I saw that, but I think I just need a little more help in terms of the specifics. Will SYR still ship my tortoise now, in the middle of winter?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
You can contact them and they will walk you through it and how to do it and has what you need to ship. I don't know their requirements as far as the weather and temps. Being a large tortoise, they are not quite as delicate in colder temps as hatchlings. However, I'm sure they would not do it, if it is too cold or bad weather. I would talk to them though, they should be able to answer all your questions.

sibi

10 Year Member!
Florida, USA