Should I soak?

elainelim

Hi guys, in preparation for my new pancakes I am wondering do they need weekly soaks if humidity in my area is usually at a 70-80%? I will prepare a large shallow water pan for them but because I am pretty new to torts, do I need to take them out and soak them weekly?

Thanks

Last edited:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
My "guess" would be yes, however, I don't know anything about the Pancake tortoise species. Let's ask @Cowboy_Ken

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
I can't see where soaking would cause an issue, other than the sped up transit time of foods in the gut tract. I don't soak mine, though I do see them self soaking once in a while. This could just be laziness on their parts and just laying in the water dish to drink.

elainelim

I can't see where soaking would cause an issue, other than the sped up transit time of foods in the gut tract. I don't soak mine, though I do see them self soaking once in a while. This could just be laziness on their parts and just laying in the water dish to drink.

Thanks for the input.

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona
We've more than a few members here with pancakes. I'm not sure I'd recommend pancakes as a first time tortoise.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
@cyan has a great group of pancakes with a good year for egg laying. So far she has one hatching that pipped. I'm sure it's different with the hatchlings probably good to soak and adults not so much. Let's see what she has to say too.

elainelim

We've more than a few members here with pancakes. I'm not sure I'd recommend pancakes as a first time tortoise.

Could you explain further? Husbandry requirements a lot harder than others? Or is there something else?

Cowboy_Ken

10 Year Member!
Kingman, Arizona