Size Weight Ratio

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weed Botherer

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Edinburgh, Scotland
Hi all, this is my first post, possibly of many! I'm new to keeping torts. I have 2 young greek spur thigheds. I'm not sure of the age...possibly 12 months old. I have tried to find a chart which shows the correct weight for length that my geeks should be but the only one I can find is the jackson ratio, which doesn't go down to the size of mine. They are both approx 60mm in length (caliper measurement of the carapace) and one is about 37g and the other 45g. Anyone know if this is a normal ratio range?

Thanks, in anticipation.

Paul

Attachments

• S&T.JPG
    S&T.JPG
    86 KB · Views: 36

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA
Hi WeedBotherer, welcome to the forum those are a lovely pair of Greeks you have. attached is a Jackson Ratio for hatchlings. If you save it to your computer then open it it opens larger and easier to read.

Additional info on the Jackson Ratio http://www.slowcoach.org.uk/care/jackson/jackson.html this gives information on how to interpret your findings.

Interesting read about the Jackson Ratio
http://www.tortoise-protection-group.org.uk/site/151.asp

Calculate the weight in grammes, divided by the length in cms cubed (weight/length*length*length): the resulting figure is the tortoise’s Jackson Ratio.
This is for Adults:
A Jackson Ratio of less than 16 indicates an underweight tortoise needing special care.
Jackson Ratio of 17 indicates an animal which is light for hibernation. However, a healthy, but active male or a tortoise with very flared scutes could also give this result.
Jackson Ratio of 19 is normal and safe to hibernate.
Jackson Ratio of 21 is a good weight, and ideal condition for hibernation.
Jackson Ratio of 23 is possibly too heavy; you should check for any puffiness, or if a female, she could be carrying eggs.

Attachments

• Hatchlingjacksonratio.jpg
    Hatchlingjacksonratio.jpg