So glad to finally make it!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

safari_lass1

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
SW Tn
Hello everyone,
I am so excited to finally make it onto the forum, it has been a long journey with multiple detours of login trouble and activation redirection, but I made it :))

Even with the little "bumps," I have still been watching the forum everyday and am loaded with questions and stories that will hopefully help another tortoise enthusiast.

I have been working with chelonians for about 15 years and feel like I still just scraping the iceburg of all the available information. For the majority I worked with arids while living in Cali and Az, but now that I am a Tennessee transpant, I have been loving working with more of the tropical (higher humidity) species.

I kinda live in the middle of nowhere, in addition to the chelonian laws in Tn, there aren't many tortoise people to chit chat with. I am lucky enough to care for the collection at a paublc, educational facility, so we are exempt from the "No Chelonian possession" rule.

So lucky!!

It is a pleasure to meet everyone and hopefully you will not get too sick of seeing my name on the forums lol

Kindest regards,

Safari_lass

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome.:) Glad you were able to finally eat on. Any time you want to tell us some of your stuff, please do. Most of us are waiting:)

shellysmom

10 Year Member!
Welcome! Yes, we love stories and photos. I can't believe no one mentioned photos yet!

Is it really illegal to own tortoises in TN? All the info I ever read about the issue only stated turtles, specifically. One more reason I'm glad I don't live in Tennessee, I guess.

safari_lass1

5 Year Member
SW Tn
Technically it is a health law due to salmonella, but it has been proven that it is easier to get it from uncooked chicken rather than a reptile.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club