some help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

annemarie

5 Year Member
hi im new to all this so i apologise in advance. i have just become the proud owner of a 7 year old spurethighed tortoise. he is lovely. all is going well but i went to his enclosure this morning and saw a lot of water. im assuming it was wee but was totally clear and seemed alot for a little tortoise. is anyone able to tell me either this is normal or not. thanks in advance x

Annieski

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Edison, N.J.
Congratulations on your "new addition". Perhaps if you could give a little more info on your tortoise and how you are keeping him,--what kind of substrate and diet-- is there water readily available in the enclosure?--and if inside--what are the temps--- it might be easier to answer your question.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Annemarie:

1099131x55uln6x7j.gif
to the forum!!

It might be a good idea for you to post a picture of your tortoise so we can be sure of the type that you have.

They do seem to pee a fairly large amount.

t_mclellan

10 Year Member!
Gilchrist Co., Florida
Here's a thought to go along with the other comments.

There is a chance that your tort was a bit dehydrated when you received it.
If so, Then, If you have provided a constant available water source.
Then the animal dose not need to retain as much water & is now expelling what is not needed.
Just a thought, as more info. would get a more accurate answer.

M

Maggie Cummings

t_mclellan said:
Here's a thought to go along with the other comments.

There is a chance that your tort was a bit dehydrated when you received it.
If so, Then, If you have provided a constant available water source.
Then the animal dose not need to retain as much water & is now expelling what is not needed.
Just a thought, as more info. would get a more accurate answer.

As far as I'm concerned there isn't a more accurate answer!

moswen