Spinach

Tortilla tortoise

Hi first time posting. I have had my Russian tortoise for 3 years now and she refuses to eat pellets only fresh food, which is fine but I feel it's hard to provide a well mixed diet. I also read that spinach was bad, toxic even. I bring this up because I recently bought spring mix which has spinach included and was recommended on a forum as a feed with variety... Like spring mix was a good choice. I would love some recommendations on what food from the grocery store is appropriate, since she refuses the pets store pellets.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Spinach is not toxic per say. That just shouldn't have a lot of it. I feed spinach about 2-3 times a month but it's what comes in the spring mix, not a pile of it.

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco
Double Oops! Me too.
Welcome to the Forum, sorry i have no knowledge of store bought greens as they only do lettuce or lambs lettuce (rarely) here.

Tortilla tortoise

Thanks for the warm welcome. My avatar shows my little tortilla's new home I just finished building last week. She is in heaven!!!!

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
it is not toxic at all. The problem with spinach as it has calcium binders with prevent the absorption of calcium for your tortoise. I know that some people feel it sparingly but I just avoid it completely lots of other good food out there

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England