Sulcata won't eat grass

Karim

Hi all,
I am new in fourms world and I've some struggles with my yearling sulcata.. I knew that sulcatas supposed to be grazers but mine hate grass so I planted so barley for him/her but it didn't eat much.. just tasted this kind of grass.... now am starving him or her and the only food available is fresh barely grass.. should I do more?!
I feed her or him dandelions, mulberry leaves, some cactus from time to time (BTW mine hate cactus) and when I don't find anything of those I feed him /her on romaine lettuce
And I keep her outside in a proper enclosure..
Thanks DSC_1225.JPG

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Kent, South East England
Young sulcatas rarely eat grass straight off. It's something that develops as they get older.

To help your tort get a taste for it, cut a small amount up really small using scissors and sprinkle it on your tort's regular food. The regular food should be wet so the grass sticks.

Karim

Young sulcatas rarely eat grass straight off. It's something that develops as they get older.

To help your tort get a taste for it, cut a small amount up really small using scissors and sprinkle it on your tort's regular food. The regular food should be wet so the grass sticks.
She/he has already tasted it but won't eat again

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

If you cut it up small enough, wet it and mix it in real well into the other food, the tortoise will eat it.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
This is the way to introduce any new food to a tortoise - not just grass

1. Chop up the food your tortoise will eat very small and wet it
2. Chop up a tiny amount of the new food very small and mix it with the food that your tortoise will eat. The water will stick it together