Sulcatta Emergency

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jackster

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hello...I'm in Tampa, Fl.
I am a newbie to forums.
I have 2 year old African Spur Thigh with a prolapsed rectum....on a saturday evening....
Can't find a herp vet.
Anyone ever had this problem? and what do I do?
This guy grew so nice and healthy...perfect diet...I have no idea what has happened. Any help or thoughts, suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Hi,
You need to keep the tissue from drying out, so a triple antibiotic ointment would work great. If you can't get that regular vasoline will work just as well.
You need to get to a vet ASAP, even if they aren't a herp vet. You can have a vet call the closest tortoise vet to get advice.

Danny

Jackster

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
egyptiandan said:
Hi,
You need to keep the tissue from drying out, so a triple antibiotic ointment would work great. If you can't get that regular vasoline will work just as well.
You need to get to a vet ASAP, even if they aren't a herp vet. You can have a vet call the closest tortoise vet to get advice.

Danny

Thanks Danny, have been putting triple anti b on, and cool water.
Do you know what the treatment would be?
Got any idea off and without info what may have caused?
Really nice and healthy turtle so I've been told. Fresh food always....
I did notice a vine had JUST crept into habitat and that is only thing new...potho vine...the toxicity level is pretty low...more of an irritant...thanks again!:)

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
Hard to tell what happened. The vet should put a purse string suture around his cloaca to hold the piece of intestine inside and let the muscles re-attach to it.

Danny

Jackster

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
egyptiandan said: