Switching substrates

Status
Not open for further replies.

drgnfly2265

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
FLORIDA
I've been using hay ever since Bowser has been 6 months old (before that was the reptile carpet) and ever since we moved into our new place she has been on our front porch I have been having problems with the hay lately. Well for one we live in Florida and it is crazy humid here (I'm sure a lot of you understand, lol) and it seems to be making the hay moldy :( I have been switching it out like crazy.

So I have been hearing a lot of good things about cypress mulch and wondered if it's safe for sulcatas. What if she accidentally eats some? I still want to provide the hay to her somehow because she eats it still, but I'll try to figure a way out to give it to her...

I think I'll be buying it from Home Depot tomorrow so I wanted to get everyones opinion before buying it. Please help!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Lots of people use cypress mulch and have no problems. Just buy the fine grade stuff so its not too coarse. They normally don't eat it, but as a precaution just feed him as much as he will eat before you put him on the new substrate and then put out some food platters on the new substrate. That way, if he gets the munchies, he can eat the food instead of sampling the new substrate. I think you will find its much better than the hay you've been using.

drgnfly2265

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
FLORIDA
Should I get a special kind, if their are different kinds? I won't get any weird colors, if they sell that, lol.

I'll try that with the food. But I swear, it seems like she is always hungry, lol.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Just plain cypress mulch with NO additives or colors of any kind. Look on the back of the bag for "ingredients". It should only say "Cypress Mulch".