This can't be right! (breathing)

erica anne

5 Year Member
I have taken Franklin to the vet and he brushed it off but the way Franklin is breathing concerns me. He seems active with a healthy appetite and there is not any drainage coming from his nose.

Here is a link to a video I made so you can hear what it sounds like:

http://youtu.be/wgfCtV09Dps

This is my first time trying to post a video so I hope it works...

Thank you for any feedback you can give me!

lisa127

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
NE Ohio
RE: This can't be right!

Well, I don't have a sulcata or even a tortoise. My experience is with box turtles. But I do have a box turtle that breathes similar to that but only when he is excited or exerting himself. When he is begging for food, climbing on logs, hunting for worms I will hear it. But not when sitting still. He as well has not had any discharge or any other signs of illness. But Franklin seems to be doing it quite a bit for a tort that is sitting still. So maybe someone who keeps large tort's can give you their opinion. Sorry that wasn't much help!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California

It is not unusual for sulcatas to have some breathing noises like this especially during fall and winter.

Where are you? What are the temps in that shed overnight? Air temps, away from the heat mat?

Mine used to do that every winter when I used those plastic rubbermade sheds and a heat mat too. Since I switched to these: http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread-66867.html , they don't do it anymore.

Sulcatas can survive lower temps. My contention has always been that I don't think lower temps are "optimal" for them.

erica anne

5 Year Member

We are in Phoenix Az. Away from the heat mat temps are 80 degrees, there is a CHE hanging over a corner of the heat mat that registers 90 degrees.