Time in hide

Bwatts86

Location (City and/or State)
England
Hey, first time Sulcata owner here and just looking for advice.

I have a Sulcata around 6 months old, since I introduced its new hide a few weeks ago it spends 99% of its time inside there. Prior to getting this hide it was very active, walking around and exploring, picking at food all day whereas now I take it out to soak in the morning, it’ll have some food then head straight back to its hide for hours on end.

My temp inside the hide is 81f, directly below the basking bulb is 96-99 and the cool end is 80. Night time temp is controlled with a CHE and the temp in the hide is around 82. I monitor my temps with digital thermometers and also confirmed with a temperature laser. Misting 2-3 times a day with warm water gives me readings of 80%+ on the humidity.

Ultimately, I’m just wondering if this is normal behaviour ?? Is it ok for the little one to spend that much time hidden away in its hide?
Like I say I’m new to sulcatas and trying to do the best I can for it, I’m following Toms guide on raising sulcatas on here to the best I can.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 4

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Hey, first time Sulcata owner here and just looking for advice.

I have a Sulcata around 6 months old, since I introduced its new hide a few weeks ago it spends 99% of its time inside there. Prior to getting this hide it was very active, walking around and exploring, picking at food all day whereas now I take it out to soak in the morning, it’ll have some food then head straight back to its hide for hours on end.