Tortoise in the Classroom

LRZtorts

5 Year Member
So since I am a science teacher I decided I would bring one of my russian torts to my classroom for a class pet. My students love having him in our room and enjoy having him be apart of our learning experience. I have taught them all the difference between turtles and tortoises and they are learning how to care for pets responsibly.

I went over a safety contract and had each student sign it. I have also set up data collection sheets for students to record the temperature, his activity, what he was fed etc. everyday in class. If there are any other teachers out there consider doing this if even just having your pet visit for the day.
IMG_2290.JPG

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
I like the idea behind this . But they can stress easily . I personally wouldn't take my tortoises to school unless there's limited time the students can mess around with it . Hopefully it works out for you .

LRZtorts

5 Year Member
So far it has. I teach older kids so they know they aren't allowed to touch him or his enclosure. I've explained to theM if we get to loud it will make him nervous.

I was afraid he would hide the entire time, but so far he has been out and active like normal.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
does the tortoise live in the classroom, do you bring it back and forth every day does he go home on the weekend?

LRZtorts

5 Year Member
He will be brought home on weekends. I can set his lights on timers but feel safer with him home on weekends of course.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Most schools will not let you keep heating elements on over night . If yours is letting you then I don't see a problem . You got your students in check and heating in check all should work out .

ShellyG

5 Year Member
NE Florida