Tortoise not growing?

Kelley

Hello!

I'm new to this whole tortoise thing, so forgive me for sounding like an idiot. I have these two little guys (I think they're spur-thighed tortoises?) who belonged to my sister for the last two years. I took them about 3 weeks ago because her boys don't pay them enough attention and my step-daughter loves them.

Anyway, here is a photo:
orib7c.jpg

See that big guy on the right? He's actually the younger of the two. He's active and eats well, cruises around when you take him out, is pretty fearless about everything. The little one on the left (who isn't even half his size) is around 2 years old. The big one is a little over a year. He rapidly outgrew little-bit there, who hasn't really grown at all since my sister' got her.

She (I say she but I actually don't know) is lethargic, doesn't go into her shell much. She seems most active when soaking. Otherwise, she really doesn't do much like big-guy does. As you see her in the photo is generally how she lays around in her tank. She's always been like this, so it isn't a new development. When my sister took her to the vet when she was smaller (when she first noticed the lack of growth) the vet couldn't find anything wrong with her.

Any ideas? Are some tortoises like this or is there something I can be altering in her diet or some kind of medication to pep her up?

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
How are they housed: lights,uv, humidity, diet? Almost always this is a result of bullying when two are kept together in the same enclosure. The dom one gets bigger & sub stays small & affraid....

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
I agree with the above . They must have their own setups . They need to be kept at 80º and 80% humidity . With a basking spot of 95/100º. The bigger one is pushing the little one out of the best places to eat and sleep .

Kelley