Tortoise-related assistance needed ASAP!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonny

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hello All-

I am SO glad I found this forum. I need help. I am sorry to say that I am REALLY new to tortoises and what to do with them, but I'm facing a situation. I live in a small town in northern Maine (U.S.). Two days ago, I woke up to find an ENORMOUS tortoise in my back yard. (At first I thought it was a turtle, but the turtle forum directed me here). I think it is called a Galapagos tortoise. It is probably 4 feet long and weighs about 500 pounds. It must have escaped from a circus or a private zoo or something, but the local sheriff is of absolutely no help. His only suggestion was that we, "put it out of its misery, and use the shell for a coffee table". Needless to say, I felt that this was a bit extreme.

My questions are:

1) Does anybody know of a traveling tortoise circus or some other place in Maine which may have lost a tortoise;
2) While I am waiting, what and how much should I feed it? So far I have given it some lettuce, bread and raw bacon. It didn't like the bacon much so I have been wrapping it in lettuce leaves to ensure it gets enough protein;
3) Where do pet tortoises sleep? I have let this one sleep in the bed with me the past two nights, but it likes to burrow under the covers and it also smells very "earthy". Plus I have not been able to housebreak it yet. Is there a trick to housebreaking a tortoise?;
4) Do I need to worry about my cats? I have heard that some reptiles and/or marsupials are known to attack and eat cats. I think my cat is quicker, but if the tortoise stays still, I am sure he can trick the cat into thinking he's a rock and then snatch her.;
5) Any suggestions on names? I was thinking of calling it Greg. (When I settle on a name is it okay to spray paint it on it's shell or should I use acryllic?)

Thanks in advance.

Sonny

UMDRunner

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Duluth, MN