Tortoise table substrate

Status
Not open for further replies.

kousagi1205

5 Year Member
Hi. I am very new to tortoise keeping and am looking for advice on substrate.
I have an 18 month old Horsefield/Russian tortoise and have bought a tortoise table for him. The pet shop recommended hay pellets for the substrate but I've read that half sand/soil is the best substrate for a Horsefield as they like to dig and it is better for their limbs and muscles.
Can any experienced tortie owners offer advice please? I want make sure that he has the best possible environment. Thanks.

mctlong

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
SF Valley, SoCal
Welcome to the forum, kousagi1205!

As a rule, I never listen to anything I hear at petstores. They simply have too many animals be exerts in every single one. Also, as a retailer, they are primarily salespeople, not animal experts.

Hay pellets are not a good substrate, IMO. I've tried them. They get moldy and stinky when wet. And they're expensive.

Some folks on this forum have had success using the sand/soil combination. Personally, I prefer a cheap topsoil without sand. I recently acquired a tortoise who has severe health problems, in part from eating too much sand. I stay away from the stuff completely. Plain topsoil (without sand) is great substrate for digging, it holds moisture well, it doesn't mold, and a big bag costs less than $3 at Home Depot.

Another good option is coco-coir. Its qualities are very similar to topsoil. Doesn't mold, non-toxic, great for burrowing.

Cypress mulch is also a good option. I use this stuff alot. Its not as good for borrowing as the topsoil and coco-coir are, but its less messy, non-toxic, smells decent, and doesn't mold.

Hope this helps. Good luck.

Tortoise

10 Year Member!
Canada
I just set up a group of Russians and used coconut fibre. I may mix in some soil when the snow has melted but so far this seems to be working well and they like to dig in it.