Tortoise Toys

Status
Not open for further replies.

TimTortise

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Iowa
Hello, My name is Tim and this is my first post on the forum. This website looks like the best place for me to get involved in since I'm new to the tortoise world. I got a 5 year old girl? Russian Box for Christmas, Her name is Regina. If you all would like pictures will come. I have her set up comfortable in an aquarium with enough substrate for her to dig around in. I also have a shallow water bowl for drinking/sitting/pooping in.

I have been considering going with a Tupperware tub instead of the aquarium because i have read online that it is better for tortoises. I have noticed that she is constantly trying to walk through the glass, she isn't that bright HAHA! She has 2 lights one UVA one UVB The heat is usually around 80-90 degrees, with humidity around 30-40%. Does it sound like I'm doing everything correctly?

The main question i have is, what can i put in the aquarium to keep her entertained? She seems to get bored a lot, and when she gets bored she tries to walk through the glass. I give her plenty of time to walk around in my living room each day for some exercise, but i still want something in there for her to keep her busy while I'm at work. I'm open for any ideas and suggestions, because this is the first Tortoise I've had and am learning as I go. Thanks again.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Tim:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know appx. where in the world you are?

Quite a few tortoises have a hard time with the concept of see through walls. You may have to wrap paper around the bottom so she can't see out.

Some of the larger species of tortoise will play with toys. The more popular being soft rubber balls of an appropriate size.

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Earth
Welcome.