UVA/UVB ?

thatkiidsean

5 Year Member
Hey everyone since I am new here I am confused on what to do for the vitamins for the tort? When it's a baby does it need a UVA or UVB bulb in addition to the heat lamp (does it need one? ) sorry I am new at this. Also what's the difference between UVA and UVB ? I have a bunch if questions I am sorry for all these questions I just want this to work out well for my tort. When it's a hatchling could I out in in a Rubbermaid container and what would happen to keep the humidity in? And how do I prevent mold on the substrate? What would be the substrate? Aldo what are your guys opinion on tort pellets? Also what is the best place to get a tortoise?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Yes, needs UVA/UVB. Coconut coir does not mold and holds humidity well. Tort pellets like Mazuri as food is good as part of a wide varied diet. Pellets like some use for substrate is bad. Putting a top on the enclosure will help hold heat and humidity in. So, depending on the kind of tort you get or have, will depend on the temps, humidity and diet needed and the size enclosure.

the_dude_abides

I think it would benefit you to read all of Tom's and other informative articles. Someone suggested to you earlier and your posting another question that has been covered. There is a lot of great info from Tom and many others on here. Search is your best friend.

EDIT: Im not trying to come off rude, but the info is everywhere and you dont have to wait for someone to answer. Its a fun and enlightening process i assure you!

thatkiidsean

5 Year Member
I'm in Massachusetts so the winters are long and get can get pretty bad as we having a bad snowstorm. What's a good diet for a hatchling? And where do I get one? Obviously I'm not getting one from petco

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
thatkiidsean said: