UVB not a necessity???

Status
Not open for further replies.

nearpass

10 Year Member!
I'm a newbie, I know, mostly a lurker and reader on many forums, but I have kept reptiles of quite a variety for almost 30 years. What I have summized, and this is strictly my opinion based on what I've experienced, is that UVB does effect behavior and health in some animals, most especially in the lizards that I've had, and I am quite sure that many of them (lizards) can do much better when it's provided in some form, as they are more difficult for us to 'get' into the sun. But, as has been stated here a few times, it is NOT sunshine and can not replace the sun for tortoises.

My main interest in this whole discussion is what I frequently read in my 'travels,' namely that turtles and tortoises with a variety of problems, from pyramiding to MBD (which in MY opinion) are not one and the same in many cases, to lack of appetite, and on and on in some discussions, can have their problems solved by the addition of UV/UVB. I feel this is very overly simplistic, and neglects many other aspects of their care which may be just as important. There is so much we just don't really know, I'm always concerned when there's "one solution" presented. On that, I guess I do have to agree with EJ.

Sorry if this is a bit disjointed, hope you understand what I'm getting at...I have a cold and my head is in a fog

-EJ

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Georgia
My point was that the studies are species dependent.

Chameleons seem to be very sensitive to the need of UVB. Tortoises in general are obviously not.

Dr. Gehrmanns studies were first geared at the need and second, how effective each product was.

Those studies were also done long before the use of mercury vapor lamps.

I know someone has posted the link for the UK group that has been following the use of UVB in reptiles. I can't think of it off hand but it is probably the best resourse on the topic.

Madkins007 said: