What are these plants, please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tignish99

5 Year Member
These plants are in my backyard in the lawn. My backyard is pesticide and fertilizer free, so I would like to give my new baby as much backyard fresh food as possible. I am not very good at identifying plants. I am in Ontario, Canada, if that helps. Thank you

The plant with the circular leaves:
2013-05-26 10.09.25.jpg

The purple-flowered plant:
2013-05-26 10.12.30.jpg

Could this be a herb:
2013-05-26 10.16.09.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
In the first pic I see clover dandelion and broadleaf plantain. All good foods.

I don't know the second or third either.

EKLC

5 Year Member
The violets are good to eat

#3 is some type of chickweed I think (mouseear or sticky)

natureguy

5 Year Member
Pic #1 is Plantain (Plantago major) There is a ornamental purple leaved form from Turkey which may be considered more nutritious and Common Dandelion (Taraxacum officinale) Both very edible and nutritious herbs for Tortoises AND humans. If leaves are too "tough" remove the stringy veins or use younger leaves. Probably not good as staple as at least in humans act as a diaretic. They were brought here as food by our ancesters.

Pic #2 Is perennial Sweet Violet (Viola odorata) If look very carefully just to the right-upper-center is a plant with smaller leaves and that is most likely annual Johnny-Jump-Ups (Viola tricolor) Both commonly spread through gardens with summer moisture. Viola include Pansies, other annual violas and many native perennial species all are edible to tortoises and humans.
Sweet clover is the more noticeable plant with 3-leaflets. Edible again by both.