What is this gorgeous turtle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuthieHurry

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Houston Area, Texas
My daughter found this turtle crossing the road, and brought it home. She made sure to mark the location in her mind, in case this is a native species. This turtle has one heck of a personality, and acts like it's been a favored pet for a while. If it is native and not illegal to keep, I might consider it.

Front view:

Boxturtle3.jpg

Top view:

Boxturtle2.jpg

America's Next Top Model view:

Boxturtle1.jpg

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
Not being a true expert, I would say its a 3-toed with nice colors...

jojodesca

5 Year Member
Bay Area
yes this is a 3 toed box turtle...you can tell if it has 3 toes on its back feet....I believe they are native to Texas...you should find out and return it to where your daughter found her......

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA
RuthieHurry said:
I never thought that I would be leaving work to go home and count turtle toes.....
Welcome to the insanity of our world.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
It is a looker. However if it is native to your area it should be put back where she found it. The wild should be left in the wild. If you do want one though, you can rescue one or purchase one if they are allowed in your area to own.

RuthieHurry

5 Year Member
Houston Area, Texas
Keeping it is already off the table. When I look at all the time and money it took to outfit and enclosure for my sulcata's, i certainly don't want to do it all again for a box turtle.

RuthieHurry

5 Year Member
Houston Area, Texas
3 toes. My kid keeps insisting it's an eastern. We're probably going to contact a rescue for an on site I.D., and also because it looks like her plastron is scorched and peeling.

RuthieHurry

5 Year Member
Houston Area, Texas