White-fly Hibiscus cure.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cljohnson

5 Year Member
I don't know about anyone else but I've been battling white-flies on Hibiscus for many years.
I was talking to a lady at a local nursery and she recommended what turned out to be a miracle cure.
WORM POOP.
Actually it turns out worm castings help plants produce chitinase an enzyme that breaks down chitin ( the building block of insect exoskeleton )
I spread it about an inch thick over the root zone and scratched it in. Then covered with compost. Watered it in.
Three weeks later bugs are gone.
She said to add a quarter inch twice a year for maintenance .

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Wow. That's good to know. I have a friend with a huge hibiscus that has been fighting those. I'll let him know.

cljohnson

5 Year Member
Tom said:
Wow. That's good to know. I have a friend with a huge hibiscus that has been fighting those. I'll let him know.

Let me know how it works out for your friend. I would first remove the worst infected foliage. Then blast the rest with water.
So far I am totally sold and I doesn't get more organic.

bigred

10 Year Member!
Southern California
Ya thats very good to know- My sister sprayed hers with some kind of bug killer. So I told my Mom the torts cant eat from that

cljohnson

5 Year Member
Another thing she recommended as a safe organic topical is Neem Oil.
I haven't tried it yet but I did research it a bit. It looks like cool stuff.
It is supposed to be effective for bugs, fungus and mildew on roses as well.
I might try it for that.

Angi

5 Year Member
La Mesa, CA.
That is very interesting. I have also heard of makeing WORM TEA. It is made with worm casting and you spray it on the leaves. Just curious, who do you get your castings from. I see you are in San Diego and I know a lady in the worm biz.

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV