wrong thermostat? safe?

marcy4hope

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Missouri
i'm working on my outside night box for my sullie. i bought an optimus portable oil filled radiator heater. it saw it uses max 700w. i won't need it on high though, cause my box is really insulated well. i also bought a thermostat from zoo med called reptitemp 500r. but it says it's only for 500w. i forgot to read up on my heater before i bought the thermostat. i also have a temp reader to put in the box so i can figure out where to regulate the reptitemp, since it doesn't have a temp setting on it, just a high/lo dial. so, since my heater is 700w and thermostat 500w - do i need to get a different thermostat? i don't want to overload this one and burn something up. i don't think i'll ever need the heater on it's highest setting, so i don't think i'll ever be pulling the full 700w. i'm no electrician - so am i thinking of this correctly. only reason i hesitate to buy a different thermostat is just that i can't return this one and would have basically wasted my money.

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
In my opinion, you need to get a thermostat that is equal to or greater than the load you intend to put on ur circuit, in this case 700w. You are asking for over loaded circuits and possibility that the circuit will overload and trip. You dont want this happening, especially during a really cold night. Ur circuit to the heater trips, power goes off, heater shuts off and ur enclosure's temps drop. Better to return your thermostat and get a much larger one. Maybe if u cant return u can offer it up here to someone needing that wattage. Good luck.

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Yes you need a new one . The contacts that are in the one you have will weld shut over time and cook your tort. The ratings on electrical stuf is very important . You could burn down your house by under sizing equipment .

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!