1st time posting but need help

flush

Location (City and/or State)
Sacramento, California
I have a problem right now i have an indoor enclosure for my RF and I can't get rid of the fruit flies or gnats. I have a indoor bug zapper for about couple weeks now but doesn't seems to be doing much, I mean it kills a whole lot of them but there's still **** load of them. Sorry for the language but its bad, I can't even do an outdoor enclosure cause I live in California and I'm pretty sure they can't handle our weather. I'm still new to the tortoise game so any help is welcomed. I can post pictures of the enclosure its plain and crappy I'm embarrassed by it lol.

solidsounds17

Inglewood, Ca
I have a problem right now i have an indoor enclosure for my RF and I can't get rid of the fruit flies or gnats. I have a indoor bug zapper for about couple weeks now but doesn't seems to be doing much, I mean it kills a whole lot of them but there's still **** load of them. Sorry for the language but its bad, I can't even do an outdoor enclosure cause I live in California and I'm pretty sure they can't handle our weather. I'm still new to the tortoise game so any help is welcomed. I can post pictures of the enclosure its plain and crappy I'm embarrassed by it lol.
No need to be embarrassed. I would suggest you still post them. there's real knowledgable people here that can help with your enclosure and perhaps point out anything that may be harming your little guy on the long run.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
The gnats come from left over fruit/food and moist substrate.

There are many, many RF keepers in the Central Valley of California. It certainly CAN be done. You just need to provide lots of shade, good cover from the sun and plenty of moisture.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California