A few questions.

Jennifer1829

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Georgia
I am sure these have been answered already but I haven't found them all in one place. This is my first time keeping a tortoise so I want to make him happy.

1. I read to use soil instead of the chips because it's more comfortable for the tortoise. What kind of soil exactly would be best to use for a Greek?

2. What is the best humidity to keep him at?

3. What is the best temperature for him?

4. And last question for now... food. I see many conflicting diets. He loves romaine lettuce but won't touch kale. I know there are a few other things I need to try but would like to know what would be best for him.

johnandjade

5 Year Member
scotland
feel free to post pics, we all love pics here :) , it'll also help people advise you of any 'tweeks' that should be made. its good your asking q's and there are lots of experts here who will happily help

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!
Definitely read the care sheet I have pinned at the top this forum but to answer your questions directly:

1-Organic top soil mixed with coconut coir and/or peat moss is highly recommended for babies. You can even use a small handful of play sand to make it more natural for the animal but that is entirely up to you. Some people do not like to use it because in some cases it can cause impaction when ingested. In more than 20 years we have never had a single issue with using it.

2-Humidty should be around 70% but this can also be dependent on what subspecies of Greek you have.

3-Ambient temperature should be in the low to mid 80s but allowed to drop at night. Again depending on what subspecies you have. For example, ibera Greeks can be allowed to drop way down at night like Hermann's into the 60s. Some of the more heat loving Greeks should not drop this low at such a young age. Basking area for a baby should be around 95F.