Advice on Hermanns

immiexxo

Location (City and/or State)
UK
Heya,
I've had my 5 year old Hermanns for around 2 weeks now and everything seems fine with him however I have a few general questions about him.

His previous owner said he was over hibernated last year. Does this affect him in any way? Also how do I go about hibernating him this year? I've never done it before. When is the best time to do this and for how long? Is there any way to NOT hibernate a tort?

Also, creeping Virginia I've seen is listed as toxic however my tortoise has just been caught munching on the leaves of one! He also found a tomato and ate that too! Hoe much will this affect him?

Any help and advice would be great! Thank you!

Merrick

5 Year Member
South Florida
For the food stuff as long as you don't feed him anymore he should be fine

Gillian M

5 Year Member
Jordan
Welcome to the forum.

A bit of tomato won't do any harm, though it its not recommended for torts. It is something they LOVE, but have difficulty in digesting.

THBfriend

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
His previous owner said he was over hibernated last year. Does this affect him in any way? Also how do I go about hibernating him this year? I've never done it before. When is the best time to do this and for how long? Is there any way to NOT hibernate a tort?

Over hibernated? I guess you just mean hibernated.