Best species for what I can provide?

Cendalla

Location (City and/or State)
Washington, North America
Ok, I'm new here and still stumbling my way through. You guys were referred to me from BP.net by some of the members.

I have been keeping snakes for several years and have gotten into tarantulas about a year and a half ago. I have always wanted to add a tortoise to the family and feel that we are ready. So I'm diving into research mode.

I would like to know the best species for where I live and what I can provide. I am in the north western part of Washington (USA). We get pretty wet here and winter can be cold but not overly harsh (we usually get snow for about a week and some freezing after its melted off). Summers are mellow and probably peek at the beginning of August. We may get several days of temps in the 90s but not too long.

I have my own place so no worries about moving. I have the entire bottom floor of a split entry house (about 600sf) that I can dedicate. I will be building an enclosure- I have no intention of letting anyone just cruse around. Don't want any critters to get hurt.

It/they would only be outside during the nicer parts of summer. Its just too cool and damp here to be outdoor 24/7. I am hoping to put in a large green house in time that could extent the critter's out door time.

I realize that lighting, heat, humidity, and diet will need to be carefully maintained with it/them being mostly indoors.

Are there species that I should completely avoid? What ones should I take a close look at? Is it better to just keep one or are multiple preferred?

Questions? Comments? Concerns?
Thank you,
Erin

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA